Hallo(Prank)ween

Standard

Sentosa is proud to present you, Spooktacular 2011. Theme of this year is Asian horror, and it’s back with a Vengeance… blah blah blah.” 

“Bullshit. Get some songs playing, will you?”

This advertisement is getting on my nerves! It is stirring up all the dust, uncovering the disappointments i had for this event. The event wasn’t a bad one; the theme was well-thought of and articulated, professional actors with great working ethics and excellent props. The well-decorated place coupled with the chilling weather sets the mood right, and the crews could give you a good scare if you were to get caught off guard.

Wait… didn’t i said i was disappointed? Ah yes, the LONG waiting time at EACH of the haunted house. Basically this was what i went through : Queue for 30mins ( at least ), go in the haunted house and walk 10 minutes.  Queue-tacular!

Done with all the reminiscing, and off i go… to west coast dog run!  ( This was on the 13 October and it was 10pm ) HAHA!

How did i end up heading for dog run at 10pm? I’ve no idea! My computer died on me at that point of time and refused to start up so i take it as god siding precious for her little outing. I packed a total of six jumps – it was frigging heavy and i carried all of that on one shoulder! On my way there, i heard the Spooktacular ad and rolled my eyes a little ;P ( i know this is totally irrelevant but i had to mention it! ) A good 10 minutes drive, and i’m there! In case you haven’t been there before; it’s a park next to some port with nothing except warehouses around it so you wouldn’t be expecting people around there, not at this time! At 10pm, this place seems to have transformed itself into Fenway park! It was pitch dark except for the illuminated middle portion. Great place!

I started the training as soon as i had the poles set up and route drafted out. ( I had this little book with me to plan how to jump so i use both left and right handling ) She was totally crazy and all psyched up, dashing like a champ! That’s the one and only time I’ve seen her putting in so much effort in jumping, and the first time I really had to run to keep up her pace. It also led me into thinking how to run the same course with different methods – I changed from running outside to running inside and proceed to add in front crosses because I seriously couldn’t keep up – and I’m glad I went down to train that day! ( spoke too fast! )

Training alone has its pros too : You can think slowly and plan… ( I’m not a quick-thinker ) and there are lesser distractions.

The day out was all good till i realized my car keys were missing!!! What the fuck!!!
I moved around the field too much and shifted the items with me too. I had to go into mine-sweeping mode where i plastered my foot to the ground and move it around, hoping that i can kick my keys in the process. It wasn’t fun when your dog decided it’s a good time to go crazy and run around barking at nobody! Things got worse when the street lamps start flickering! I went from mine-sweeping mode to pole sweeping, eventually i got onto my knees ( not to pray though i did pray a little ) and used my hands to feel the ground!

Funny to think i actually thought there were zombies beneath the ground that reached out to steal my key ( it can’t be missing when there isn’t anyone around right ).

After a desperate 15 minutes search, I stumbled onto my keys and heaved a huge sigh of relief 😉 Thank god!

Though I’m not a superstitious person, i took it as a sign for me to leave. I made her jump through a series of jumps, instead of giving her a piece of pork, i opened up the container and gave it all to her. Jackpot huh precious? I packed the poles double fast and left the place swiftly! HAHA

Leave a comment